How to set up Important Places and prevent your iPhone from tracking all your movements - CYDIAPLUS.com

Breaking

Post Top Ad

Post Top Ad

Saturday, 13 January 2018

How to set up Important Places and prevent your iPhone from tracking all your movements



Believe it or not, if you have not touched anything on your iPhone, it tracks every movement you make throughout the day . iOS 11 has a function called important places that controls and registers all the places you have been and therefore knows where you will go. In iOS 10 it was called frequent places and practically did the same. You see it when you have your iPhone blocked and in the Maps Widget your iPhone offers you locations that coincidentally fit your routines.

Once you discover this it is easy to become a little paranoid with that wonderful gadget that we carry in our pocket at all hours, however according to Apple all this information is stored locally on our phone and never sent to the company itself . But of course, what happens if someone takes our iPhone? And if it is lost or stolen? It is not difficult to find out our routines and where is our house!

That's why we want to show you where you can find Important places, how to configure and deactivate it, and how to erase all the data so that you can stay calm.

How do I access important places?

You just have to go to Settings > Privacy and scroll to System Services . Again, slide your finger to the lower area where you will see a section called Important Places . Notice that a "Yes" appears, this means that it is activated.

For greater security, your iPhone will ask you to use Face ID or Touch ID depending on the iPhone you have to prevent precisely that anyone in your environment access to this section even if you have left the phone unlocked and out of your sight.

In Important Places you will see a list of all the cities you have visited recently and their frequency . You can click on it and you will see approximate locations within the locality.

How to deactivate Important Places and erase the data?

Depending on whether you have iOS 11 or iOS 10, this procedure will vary.

If you have iOS 10 on your device, you will only be able to see the frequent places , but you will not be able to delete them individually. But in iOS 11 you can delete the locations of certain places .

Just click on any entry in the list, click Edit in the upper right corner and delete it.

Fortunately, both in iOS 11 and iOS 10 you can delete all the history easily by scrolling to the lower area, where you will see "Clear History" . Confirm on the next screen to do so.

Another option is to simply disable Important Places by sliding the toggle at the top of the screen and get rid of your iPhone trackee and record your scrolling .
Should you deactivate Important places?

This question is quite personal and only you can make the decision . It is clear that if you are a person concerned about your privacy, you will not like that feature of iOS too much, but it has its advantages.

First of all, remember that to access it you have to enter your fingerprint or use facial recognition. Likewise, Apple stores the data locally and never sends it to its servers. So it 's a relatively safe function .

Also, if you deactivate important places, your experience as a user will be worse : apps like Maps or Siri will stop suggesting locations and lose some precision in other functions that use GPS. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Post Top Ad