ICloud keychain: what it is and how to configure it - CYDIAPLUS.com

Breaking

Sunday, 14 January 2018

ICloud keychain: what it is and how to configure it



Today, we are used -and partly obligated- to have different accounts in different services, sometimes with different passwords for each of them, so it is very normal that we forget or confuse them constantly.

If this is your case, it is time to use the iCloud Keychain , a system that Apple included in almost all its devices to date. In this article we will explain what it is and how to configure it quickly!

What is the iCloud Keychain 



As of iOS 7.0.3 and OS X Mavericks 10.9, Apple included a very interesting feature in its system. It was the iCloud keychain, a system that allows us to store the information of credit cards, our user names with their respective password, and also the password of our Wi-Fi networks.

Thanks to this feature, there are very few times when we have to enter a password in the different services, as the iCloud Keychain does it automatically. In addition, it is synchronized on all devices linked to our iCloud account.

How to set it 


If for some reason you skipped the configuration of the iCloud Keychain when activating your device for the first time, here we are going to leave you the steps so that you do it in a few minutes. Just follow the following instructions :


  •     Open the Settings application on your iPhone or iPad
  •     Tap on your name , and then on iCloud. If you have an earlier version, skip this step and look for the iCloud section in the settings menu.
  •     Tap Keychain , and activate the switch.
  •     You will be asked for your Apple ID and password. Once placed, follow the configuration process . 


Once you have done this, you should already have activated the iCloud Keychain on your iPhone or iPad. Remember that you must activate this option in each of the devices you use, to get the most out of it.

How to disable it 


If on the contrary you want to deactivate this function, just follow these instructions .

  •     Go to Settings .
  •     Tap on your name , and then on iCloud. If you have an earlier version, skip this step and look for the iCloud section in the settings menu.
  •     Find the Keychain option and touch it.
  •     Turn off the switch.
  •     The iCloud Keychain will ask you if you want to delete all the information stored so far, or on the contrary, leave it on the iPhone. 

Once you have made the final decision, you should have this function disabled on your iPhone.

What protection is there 


This function of Apple has encryption techniques , either for the data that is stored on your devices as well as for those that are uploaded to the cloud, so you should not worry.

The only devices that will be able to access the information stored in the iCloud Keychain will be those to which you have previously given permission . If you have more than one terminal, when you activate this function you will receive a notification to the other devices, to decide if you approve or not the inclusion of the new terminal in the iCloud Keychain. When you do, all the data and passwords will begin to update in them. 

As you can see, iOS is a fairly complete ecosystem that works best when you have more than one device associated with your account. In addition, Apple always gives us functions that we can take advantage of in the future, and without a doubt this is one of them.

Remembering all the passwords that we have used in each of the accounts created in the different web sites that we frequent is not an easy job, and writing them all down on paper does not seem like something we want to do either. The future is here , and we have no choice but to adapt to it. The good side is that we have Apple to help us with this.

Do you use this feature a lot on your iPhone or iPad? Leave us your answer in the comments!

Via | Manzana 

No comments:

Post a Comment

Follow by Email